👨‍👩‍👧‍👦 Family Visit Visa Saudi Arabia 2026

A carefully sourced preparation guide — the correct MOFA Visa Platform application route, a document checklist, and the difference between entry window, permitted stay, and extension. This is a preparation guide, not a guarantee of eligibility, approval, fees, or processing time.

🔒 No personal data collected 📋 Preparation, not approval 🔗 MOFA Visa Platform corrected

1️⃣ What a Family Visit Visa Is — and Is Not

A family visit visa is a temporary travel authorization that lets an eligible relative visit a resident or citizen in Saudi Arabia for a limited period. It is requested through an official government service, not arranged informally.

What it is not: it is not a residence visa, not permission to work, and not a guaranteed route to an Iqama or long-term residency. A family visit visa and a family residence visa are different services with different rules — see our Family Residence Visa page for the residence-visa side, which this guide does not cover.

2️⃣ Who Submits the Request, and Where

The resident (or citizen) in Saudi Arabia — the prospective host/sponsor — submits the request, not the visiting relative.

Corrected application route: Research for this guide found an official Ministry of Foreign Affairs service named "Family Visit Request" (mofa.gov.sa e-services), reached through the MOFA Visa Platform (visa.mofa.gov.sa) via Nafath national sign-in — commonly described as: Home → Individuals → Citizen or Resident → Family Visit Request. This corrects an earlier version of this page that pointed applicants to Absher for the initial request. Absher/Muqeem may still be relevant to related residency-side matters for the sponsor.

📍 Process Flow (General Pattern)

This reflects commonly reported steps, not a guaranteed sequence — your own application may show a different order or extra steps.

  1. Confirm eligibility conditionsSponsor's Iqama is valid and current, and the sponsor's occupation is checked against the platform's permitted-profession list.
  2. Prepare documentsRelationship proof (marriage/birth certificate) and passport details for the visitor, gathered before starting the application.
  3. Submit the requestVia the MOFA Visa Platform (visa.mofa.gov.sa), signed in through Nafath.
  4. Employer/Chamber authenticationSome professions reportedly require the request to be authenticated by the employer or a Chamber of Commerce before it proceeds.
  5. Fees shown by the platformPay the exact amount displayed in your own application — not a figure from this or any other guide.
  6. Visa issued — check entry windowNote the date range in which the visitor must enter, as shown on the issued visa.
  7. Visitor travels and entersCountry-specific embassy/stamping steps may apply — confirm with the relevant Saudi embassy/consulate.
  8. Track permitted stayNote the "return before"/permitted-stay date shown, which may differ from the entry window.
  9. Extension (if needed)Check the official platform for whether an extension option is shown for your specific visa before assuming one is available.

3️⃣–5️⃣ Preparation Checklists

👤 Sponsor preparation

Valid, current Iqama. Occupation checked against the platform's permitted-profession list. Any employer/Chamber of Commerce authentication requirement confirmed for your profession type.

✈️ Visitor preparation

Passport valid for at least 6 months (commonly reported). Awareness that health insurance will be required, at a price shown by the official process rather than assumed in advance.

📄 Relationship-document checklist

Spouse: marriage certificate. Children: birth certificate showing the sponsor's name. Parents: sponsor's birth certificate showing the parents' names. Documents are commonly reported to need translation/attestation — confirm exact requirements for your document's country of origin.

🔎 Entry Window vs. Permitted Stay vs. Extension

Entry window

The date range during which the visitor must arrive in Saudi Arabia under the issued visa. This is not the same as how long they may stay once inside.

Permitted stay

How long the visitor may remain in the Kingdom after entering. Sources describe this as varying by visa option (e.g., a single-entry visa's total permitted stay versus a multiple-entry visa's per-visit cap) rather than one fixed number for every case.

"Return before" / expiry date

The specific date shown on the issued visa or portal record by which the visitor must leave (or extend/re-enter, if applicable) — always the figure to rely on over any generic guide.

Extension eligibility

Reported as generally possible, with a fee and process that varies by source. This guide does not assume every visa can be extended, or extended only once — check whether an extension option is shown for your specific visa on the official platform.

⚠️ Do not assume "90 days" means the same thing in every context — it may describe an entry window, a permitted stay, or a visa's overall validity depending on the source and visa type. This guide deliberately does not restate a single number as a universal rule.

🩺 Insurance

Visitor health insurance is commonly reported as required, linked to the Council of Health Insurance framework. Reported prices vary considerably by source and household size — this guide does not state a fixed price. Check the amount shown in your own application or by your insurer.

🔁 Extension Process

Extension is reported as generally possible, subject to a fee and conditions that vary by source and were not confirmed against a single primary fee table. Whether your specific visa can be extended, and what it costs, is information that becomes available only once you review your own application or the official platform directly.

🔍 Official Status Checking

The MOFA Visa Platform is commonly described as offering a no-login "search for a submitted request" inquiry using the visitor's passport number, nationality, visa type, and port of entry — showing whether a request is accepted, rejected, or still processing. Use the official platform directly for this; this guide does not check status for you.

⚖️ When the Portal Differs From This Guide

Follow the official platform. This guide reflects patterns reported across multiple independent sources at the time of writing — fees, durations, eligible relationships, and processing steps are subject to change and may differ by case. Whatever value your own official application or issued visa displays takes precedence over anything stated here.

✅ Optional Preparation Checklist

This checklist only organizes the answers you give below. It cannot check MOFA, Absher, or any government system, and it never produces an "eligible," "approved," or "guaranteed" result, or a processing-time estimate.

📊 Your Preparation Summary

This summary reflects only your own answers. It is not an eligibility result, approval, or government decision, and it does not estimate processing time.

🚫 What This Guide Cannot Do

📐 Scenarios

1. Spouse/child preparation

Sponsor gathers a marriage certificate (for a spouse) or birth certificate showing the sponsor's name (for a child), confirms translation/attestation status, and checks that their occupation is listed as eligible before starting the MOFA Visa Platform request.

2. Parent preparation

Sponsor prepares their own birth certificate showing the parents' names, confirms each parent's passport has at least 6 months' validity (commonly reported), and submits a separate request per parent as commonly described.

3. Relationship requiring additional verification

A sponsor wants to invite a sibling. Multiple sources describe siblings as generally falling under a separate "personal visit" category rather than "family visit" — this guide does not assume sibling eligibility and directs the sponsor to confirm the correct request type on the official platform.

4. Visa with differing entry-window and stay dates

The issued visa shows an entry window (e.g., a date range to arrive) that is separate from the permitted-stay date once inside the Kingdom. The sponsor is advised to record both dates from the actual visa rather than assume they are the same span.

5. Extension information unavailable until portal review

A sponsor asks whether their visitor's visa can be extended. This guide does not answer categorically — it directs the sponsor to check the official platform for an extension option specific to that visa, since availability and cost were not confirmed as universal.

🔒 Privacy

This guide and its optional checklist never ask for an Iqama number, passport number, login information, uploaded documents, names, or birth dates. Checklist answers are processed only in your browser and are not stored in localStorage or sent to any server.

❓ Frequently Asked Questions

Do I apply for a family visit visa through Absher?
Not for the initial request. Research for this guide found an official Ministry of Foreign Affairs service, "Family Visit Request," reached through the MOFA Visa Platform (visa.mofa.gov.sa) and the Ministry's e-services page, accessed via Nafath national sign-in. Absher and Muqeem may be relevant to related residency-side matters, but we did not confirm them as the initial application route — an earlier version of this page was incorrect on this point.
Who is eligible to be invited on a family visit visa?
Multiple independent sources describe the service as covering first-degree relatives — spouse, children, and parents. Several sources describe siblings as generally falling under a separate "personal visit" category rather than "family visit." We did not verify this distinction against a primary MOFA page directly, so confirm your specific relationship's category on the official platform before assuming eligibility.
Does every resident qualify to sponsor a family visit request?
No blanket guarantee is supported. Sources describe conditions including a valid, current Iqama; an occupation that falls within professions permitted to request family visits; and authentication of the request by the employer or a Chamber of Commerce depending on profession type. This guide cannot confirm whether your specific occupation qualifies — that is shown only once you begin the official application.
How much does a family visit visa cost?
We did not find a single, current, authoritative fee table. Multiple independent sources commonly cite a government fee near SAR 300 plus a separate, variable e-service completion charge, but figures differ across sources and may change. This guide does not state a fixed or total fee — the amount shown in your own official application is the one that applies.
Is visitor health insurance a fixed price?
No. Reported insurance costs varied dramatically across the sources we reviewed — from figures suggesting well under SAR 200 for a family, to per-visitor figures far higher — which itself demonstrates that pricing is not fixed. This guide does not state an insurance price; check the amount your official application or insurer displays.
How long can a visitor stay, and can the visa be extended?
This is more varied than a single number. Sources describe different total-validity and per-stay patterns depending on whether a single-entry or multiple-entry visa option is issued, and describe extension as generally possible but with a fee and process that varies by source. This guide does not assert one universal stay length or a guaranteed one-time extension — check the entry window, permitted stay, and any extension option shown on your own issued visa.
How long does processing take?
Some service-guide sources commonly cite about 3 working days for this MOFA service, but this guide does not promise a processing time — treat any figure you see, including that one, as informational rather than guaranteed, and check your own application's status directly.
What if the official platform shows something different from this guide?
Follow what the official platform shows you. This guide is a preparation aid based on research into commonly reported patterns, not a live feed of government data — fees, durations, eligible relationships, and processing details can change, and the values in your own official application always take precedence.
Is my personal information collected by this guide?
No. This guide and its optional preparation checklist never ask for an Iqama number, passport number, login information, uploaded documents, names, or birth dates. Any checklist answers you select are processed only in your browser and are not stored or sent anywhere.
How long does a family visit visa take to process in Saudi Arabia?
Applications submitted through the official platform are commonly decided within a few working days when the sponsor's documents are complete, but attestation of the relationship documents in the visitor's home country is usually the longest step. Plan the attestation first and the application second.
Can I extend a family visit visa in Saudi Arabia?
Extension is possible in defined cases through the official channels while the visitor is still inside the permitted stay, subject to fees and insurance being valid for the extended period. Applying after the permitted stay has expired is a different and more difficult situation.
Is health insurance mandatory for a family visit visa?
Visitor health insurance is required for the visit visa and is priced by the insurer according to age and cover period, so it is not a single fixed fee. Buy it from an approved provider and keep the policy valid for the full stay, including any extension.
Who can I invite on a family visit visa?
The scheme is intended for close family members of a resident, with the relationship evidenced by attested documents. Eligibility also depends on the sponsor's own profession and residency status, which is checked by the platform at application time.

📖 Source Table

AuthorityPageClaim supportedDate checked
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)mofa.gov.sa e-services — Family Visit RequestOfficial family-visit request service exists for first-degree relatives; profession/authentication conditions apply27 Jul 2026
Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA)visa.mofa.gov.sa — Visa PlatformApplication path via Nafath sign-in; no-login status inquiry by passport/nationality/visa type/port of entry27 Jul 2026
Independent legal & service-guide sources (cross-referenced, multiple)Various Saudi service-guide and legal-commentary sites (see links above)Reported ~SAR 300 fee + variable e-service charge; reported variable insurance pricing; reported single- vs. multiple-entry duration patterns; reported sibling/"personal visit" distinction; reported ~3 working-day processing — confidence: medium, not primary-confirmed27 Jul 2026
Absher / Muqeemabsher.sa / muqeem.saRelevant to related residency-side services; not confirmed as the initial family-visit application route27 Jul 2026
⚠️ For qualified review: the complete current fee/insurance schedule, exact permitted-stay and extension rules by visa type, the precise sibling/personal-visit distinction, and country-specific embassy steps were not consistently confirmed against a single primary source. Confirm all of these directly on the MOFA Visa Platform, and consult a licensed immigration professional for anything with legal consequences.

🔧 Related Tools

This is a preparation guide only. It is not connected to MOFA, Absher, Muqeem, or any government system, and figures mentioned here may change — always verify current details on the official MOFA Visa Platform. Last reviewed: July 2026.

⚠️ Disclaimer: This guide provides general preparation information only. It does not guarantee eligibility, approval, fees, insurance pricing, permitted-stay length, extension availability, or processing time. Always verify your real situation with the MOFA Visa Platform, Absher, the relevant Saudi embassy/consulate, or a licensed immigration professional.

Last reviewed and updated: · Reviewed against official Saudi government sources (HRSD, GOSI, Absher, Muqeem, MOI).