Saudi Arabia's physical "هوية مقيم" (Resident ID) card is commonly described as usable for five years — but this is not a new 2026 feature. We independently verified, directly against a Saudi Press Agency article, that this card replaced the earlier residence-permit document starting around 1/1/1437H, corresponding to approximately October 2015. Separately, the underlying electronic residency record still needs periodic renewal through the official service — the two are not the same thing, and mixing them up is the main source of confusion this page addresses.
| Physical Resident ID card | Electronic residency record | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | The plastic card itself, commonly described as usable for five years from issuance | Your underlying legal residency status, tracked in the government's electronic systems |
| Renewal cadence | Reported as five years for the physical document | Requires periodic electronic renewal — sources describe this inconsistently (commonly annual, with some official material referencing different periods); we do not state one guaranteed interval |
| Where you check it | The card itself, and its digital counterpart in Absher Individuals (see Section 10) | The official electronic service that shows your residency status (see Section 8) |
| What this guide calculates | Nothing — no five-year expiry math is performed on this page | Nothing — this guide does not calculate renewal deadlines, fees, or penalties |
Based on the SPA article we fetched directly, the five-year period was introduced as the validity of the physical card document — replacing an older system where a physical card had to be reissued more frequently. It is not, on the evidence we found, a statement that your legal residency itself is guaranteed for five years without any further action.
Your electronic residency record is described across sources as needing periodic renewal separate from the physical card's five-year period. We found this described inconsistently — most commonly as annual, though the research brief for this page notes that some official material references one- or two-year periods. We did not find one single primary source reconciling these into a definitive current rule, so we do not state a specific renewal interval as guaranteed fact here. Check the renewal requirement and any associated fee directly on the official service that manages your residency.
We did not independently verify one single confirmed public route for this — see our separate Muqeem & Absher navigation guide for what we could and could not confirm about Absher Individuals, Muqeem, and the National Platform (my.gov.sa) as possible starting points.
Secondary Saudi financial-press coverage reports that the redesigned Resident ID does not print a conventional expiry date in the way the older document did. We were unable to independently re-confirm the exact wording of this from a primary Jawazat source, so we present it here as a reported claim rather than a confirmed fact — check your own physical card and the official electronic service directly rather than relying on this description.
This is one of the more solidly confirmed points in this guide. We fetched a Saudi Press Agency article directly: the General Directorate of Passports launched a digital version of the Resident ID inside the Ministry of Interior's "Absher Individuals" app, called "هوية مقيم الرقمية" (Digital Resident ID). It lets a resident display their identity data electronically via a changing QR code, and can be downloaded to a smartphone for offline viewing without needing an internet connection. This was announced 6 January 2021; we found no primary indication it has been discontinued, but we did not separately re-confirm it is still live in July 2026.
We did not find a primary-confirmed, current Jawazat procedure, reporting deadline, or fee for a lost, damaged, or incorrectly printed card. Rather than restate unverified figures (including any specific replacement fee or a 24-hour reporting deadline), we recommend using Absher Individuals or contacting Jawazat directly through their official channels for your specific case.
We did not find primary confirmation of a specific list of employer/sponsor obligations tied to the physical card itself. What we can say narrowly: an employer or sponsor generally has a role in a worker's broader residency administration, but this guide does not state which physical-card actions are specifically required of an employer versus the resident — confirm this through the official service for your situation.
We did not find primary confirmation describing how dependant (spouse/child) Resident ID cards compare to a sponsored worker's own card, so this guide does not make a claim either way. If this applies to you, confirm directly through the official service rather than assuming the same format or timeline applies.
This is consistent with how the two systems are described as working separately. The resident can check the official electronic service for their current residency status rather than assuming the card's age says anything about it.
Since we could not confirm exactly what date (if any) is printed on the current card design, a resident noticing a mismatch should treat the official electronic service as the more current reference point and, if genuinely concerned, raise it through an official Jawazat/Absher support channel.
This guide does not confirm which of these changes require a new physical card versus only an electronic-record update. Check the official service for the specific change involved rather than assuming either outcome.
This guide does not state a specific reporting deadline or replacement fee, because we could not primary-confirm current figures. Use Absher Individuals or contact Jawazat directly for the current procedure.
These are three separate dates from different systems. Use the date-type selector above to identify which one you are looking at, and check each one separately through its own official source.
| Topic | Source organization | Direct URL | Publication period | Access date | Confidence | Limitation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resident ID replaces prior residency-permit document; five-year validity; effective from 1/1/1437H | Saudi Press Agency (SPA) | spa.gov.sa/1406087 | 7 Oct 2015 (23 Dhu al-Hijjah 1436H) | 27 Jul 2026 | Primary confirmed — historical | Describes Hail-region preparation, not a nationwide fee/procedure schedule; regional rollout timing may have varied |
| Digital Resident ID launched in Absher Individuals (QR-code based, offline-capable) | Saudi Press Agency (SPA) | spa.gov.sa/2176697 | 6 Jan 2021 (22 Jumada al-Awwal 1442H) | 27 Jul 2026 | Primary confirmed — historical | Confirms the 2021 launch; current 2026 availability was not separately re-verified |
| No primary evidence found of a new 2026 Resident ID launch | N/A — absence of evidence from this review's searches and direct fetches | — | — | 27 Jul 2026 | Primary confirmed — current status | Absence of a 2026-launch announcement is not the same as certainty none exists; if a genuine 2026 change occurred, it should be confirmed directly with Jawazat |
| Whether the card prints a conventional expiry date | Reported by Saudi financial press, said to reflect a Jawazat statement | — | Reported around 2015-2016 | 27 Jul 2026 | Official source, current status unclear | Not independently re-fetched from a primary source; check your own card |
| Exact current electronic-residency renewal cadence (annual vs. other periods) | Multiple inconsistent secondary sources | — | — | 27 Jul 2026 | Unresolved | No single primary fee/cadence schedule was independently confirmed |
| Current residency-renewal and card-replacement fees (SAR 650, SAR 800/month, SAR 100, etc.) | Multiple inconsistent secondary sources | — | — | 27 Jul 2026 | Case-specific confirmation required | Figures vary by category across secondary sources and were not primary-confirmed; not restated as fact on this page |
| Chip type, biometric storage, contactless "tap" functionality | Not found on a primary source | — | — | 27 Jul 2026 | Unresolved | These claims from the prior version of this page could not be verified and have been removed |
Primary sources consulted directly: two Saudi Press Agency (SPA) articles (spa.gov.sa/1406087, spa.gov.sa/2176697), plus the muqeem.sa and absher.sa domain checks referenced in our separate Muqeem & Absher guide. Last reviewed: 27 July 2026. This is an independent guide, not a live feed of government data — always confirm current details on the official service you actually use.
If you believe something on this page is inaccurate or out of date, please contact us so we can review it.
This is an independent guide only. It is not connected to Jawazat, MOI, Absher, Muqeem, or any government system. Figures and features may change — verify current details on the official service before relying on them. Last reviewed: 27 July 2026.
⚠️ Disclaimer: This guide provides general background information only. It does not confirm your legal residency status, card validity, travel permission, or any fee or penalty, and it does not provide legal or immigration advice. Always verify with Absher, Muqeem, my.gov.sa, or Jawazat directly.